Guide to great naps

Napping is not a sign of laziness. Oh no, it has been scientifically proven to boost our mood and concentration levels. Even this Guardian article agrees, “Naps make you brainier, healthier, safer.” Finally, something I can use at work. Hoot!

So if I want to get the best out of my 20-minute lunch catnaps, the article says I should take a cup of coffee before the nap. “Caffeine requires 20 or 30 minutes to take effect, so it will kick in just as you’re waking.” Which means I can stave off the bloody grogginess that usually plagues me when I wake up.

Because I am nice, here are other stats to get you into the nap-side:

A nap of 60 minutes improves alertness for up to 10 hours.

A 45-minute nap improves learning and memory.

Naps reduce stress, lowers the risk of heart attack and stroke, diabetes and most importantly, excessive weight gain. Pretty good news, I say, for all those on a constant diet regime.

You don’t even have to nap to feel good. Just thinking about those seexy pre-naps would do as a British study conducted last year suggested just knowing a nap was coming was enough to lower blood pressure. Oh yeah!

Leave a Reply

