Musing: Is it “a MBA” or “an MBA”?

I have always wonder if it is “a MBA” or “an MBA”. Whenever I verbalise it, I automatically use “an” before “MBA” and I never understood why. If you had thought about the exact same thing as I do, then great. You should read on to get enlightened because I have the ANSWER to this silly Ing-ger-rish rule bollocks.

So this article gave me an absolute stunner of a “proper” answer. Taken from the Chicago Manual of Style:

“Write what you say. MBA is an initialism, pronounced “em be ayy” or something like that). It begins, then, with a vowel sound: write “an MBA”.

But of course, if you have to be a gimp and write out the whole bloody “master of business administration degree” then start with “a” in front of those words. Simply because the explanation continues, “Initialisms and acronyms are generally intended to be read as such, whereas abbreviations (e.g., 5th St., read “fifth street”) are often meant to conjure the full form.”

Right, I hope you have filed this tasty morsel of information up in that head of yours. It’d be dead useful during any social gathering when you want to impress people. Or not. I don’t really care. I’ve gotten my answer.

Leave a Reply

