Sloth, gluttony and lust

Items for a lazy weekend of sinful pleasures: KFC check, latest copy of Vanity Fair check and full set of Mad Men… oh yeah check.

Obama is on VF’s March cover along with his administration pictured inside, Clinton looking good. As part of its 15th Hollywood edition, this year’s Oscars’ nominated glitterati are featured inside too. Great pictorials, excellent writing. What can I say? Best object of intellectual lust ever. As for Mad Men, I love the Saul Bass‘ inspired opening credits and various pieces of music used but am still getting used to the way women get objectified and sometimes trampled over in the series though. I might understand it’s the way things are in the sixties but my politically correct mind can’t get rid of  the iffyness yet.

While advertising has never been sexier, I still think it’s the copious amount of smoking that made Mad Men such a hit. Which means, whenever I host any future house parties, if and when it does happen, probably never but just go along with my fantasy here, there will be cigarettes freely available in a tray beside a pretty ashtray. Only smokers welcomed in my crib.

Leave a Reply

