I can’t find my baby.

I was driving home one night and this song came on. It’s weird how a seemingly innocuous song would dredge up suppressed memories of you. I thought I had moved on. I thought I would be able to look at you without this steady throbbing physical ache in my heart. I thought I would be able to care for you without the jealousy stabs in my chest. I thought I could talk to you like an adult without you pulling away because you think I still want you back. I thought I could finally buried my broken heart and live my life like we’ve never met. Then this song started playing.

Been around the world and I, I, I
I can’t find my baby
I don’t know where, I don’t know why
Why she’s gone away
And I don’t know where she can be, my baby
But I’m gonna find her

Leave a Reply

