Heartbreaks are the new diet

The only way to truly lose weight is to go through a massively upsetting breakup. Get your heart broken and thrashed to a state where it can never be mended back. You’ll soon find yourself losing the desire to eat, slowly skipping lunch, sometimes even dinner.

Mates and family and even various acquaintances have told me I’ve lost plenty of weight since five months ago. I don’t really notice the difference because you see, I’m overly obsessed with you and what you are up to. Just like a loveseriouslysickinthehead puppy. Knowing that I am nursing this unhealthy obsession and yet unable to stop myself from doing so makes me feel even worse.

My mates have counselled me, listened to me, consoled me, gotten angry for me, chided me, encouraged me but still, I go on and on like a broken record. I fear they have lost their patience in their part-time jobs as non-profit therapists. And they give really good and positive advice too. Like today, C told me, “You will look back at this and think yourself rather stupid for behaving this way because the next one that comes along is going to be so much better that you wonder why you’re so stuck with this one.”

But it’s just so hard to tell yourself you’re ready to let go. Especially when you are alone at home.

I’m broken-hearted still.

2 thoughts on “Heartbreaks are the new diet

  1. I’ve been consoling my sister through the same situation that you’re experiencing. I’m sure you know how a break up feels, as many of us do, and you’re waiting for the pain to go away, but trust me, you don’t realize how good you’ve got it. You’re free again, you can do anything you’d like, the world is your oyster, so embrace your new found life, and enjoy. But remember this, no matter how you choose to feel, you still get to choose, so choose wisely, because we only have one life to live, and the clock is ticking. Best of luck!

    • Hi, you just said some of the nicest things ever to me. It’s really gratifying to know I’m not alone and that there are others who understand what I’m going through currently. Thank you, you just made my day.

Leave a Reply

