Broken heart syndrome

Where does it hurt?

Where does it hurt? Here, here or here?

“There are things that we don’t want to happen but have to accept, things we don’t want to know but have to learn, and people we can’t live without but have to let go.” ~ Author Unknown

So out of curiosity, I Googled “How bad your heart was broken” and don’t laugh, but the title of this link caught my eye. I never knew “Broken heart syndrome” was classified as a medical condition. I’ve always thought it was a term made up truly emo people, like cough yours truly cough. But no… I thought wrong.

Broken heart syndrome is a temporary heart condition brought on by stressful situations, such as the death of a loved one. Many people who have broken heart syndrome may have sudden chest pain or may think they’re having a heart attack. These broken heart syndrome symptoms may be brought on by the heart’s reaction to a surge of stress hormones. In broken heart syndrome, a part of your heart temporarily enlarges, a condition called cardiomyopathy.

First described medically in 1991 by Japanese doctors, the condition was originally called takotsubo cardiomyopathy. Takotsubo is a type of pot used by Japanese fishermen to capture octopuses. When doctors take X-ray images of a person who’s experiencing broken heart syndrome, part of his or her heart resembles the pot. Today, the condition is also referred to as stress cardiomyopathy, stress-induced cardiomyopathy or apical ballooning syndrome.

Broken heart syndrome is treatable, and usually requires about a week to recover.

Sadly, my condition is worse than what has been described. For it has been 10 months 15 days and the recovery time remains slow. I should probably book an appointment with Mayo Clinic and let science fix my heart up. Maybe they can even grow me a brand new one, where I can choose the emotions and functions selectively. No prizes for guessin which emotion I’d omit from the list.

Invisible tears are the hardest to wipe away. Just let it out, my friend. ~Adabella Radici

After hearing from someone about your new relationship and how compatible both of you are and how you have been seeking that person’s attention for some time now and the numerous intimate photos both of you have online, it was a sucker punch I didn’t see coming. I couldn’t quite eat or breathe without reminding myself to focus. Tonight, after reading your past plurks from 1st January 2009 till 10 September 2009, I started sobbing uncontrollably. I finally let the invisible tears I have held on for so long out.

Thank you.

3 thoughts on “Broken heart syndrome

  1. Pingback: Lady Gaga’s telephone in VideoSong by Pomplamoose « The Imaginarator

Leave a Reply

