What the eye doesn’t see:

So where was I? Oh yes, I was having the time of my life the past one week or so typing close to 6,500 words so I could fulfil my date with Mr Deadline. He’s a herd-riding tyrant, that one.

Having to move to a new place was also taking up plenty of my time because, and I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I’m ridiculously slow in packing. Can you imagine breaking up with your clothes which you have been going out with for the last ten years? Neither can’t I. Which was why I had to vet everything, give them a hug, put selected items aside, and take a day to decide if I should throw them. Finally, I gave up and in one night, I threw out two boxes of clothes I haven’t worn for the last five years. Even the comfy jeans which I love muchly but no longer fit me as snug* as before were ditched with no mercy.

Still, there are six massive boxes awaiting me and I have no storage space left. Old school projects and files took up two boxes. Gifts from old lovers and souvenirs from dates, holidays and anniversaries. You get the drift. Hell, I even get tired from explaining how I managed to accumulate that much junk memories over the last 17 years. But hang on, I have a point to this and I’m getting there now.

On 14 October 2009, I went to work as usual and I had an epiphany**. I finally decided to clear you out of my life. It was an idea which had been brewing forever but I never really had the resolve to go through with it because it was hard for me to let go of the little traces of you I’m left with. Anyway, I started “decluttering” traces of you from the social media sites. Which led me to ditching the stuff which had you all over from my work desk. I’m clearing the movie ticket stubs, little notes, photos, trinkets, soft toys and anything that reminds me of you from my room too.

Thanks but no thanks. To put it succinctly, what the eye doesn’t see, the heart doesn’t grieve over.

*Yeah, I know the usual practice is throwing out clothes that can no longer hide your expanding waistline comfortably. Sadly, almost all the clothes I owned before 2009 are hanging off me as if I were a scarecrow because of this.

**Technically speaking, my epiphany came about after I accidentally clicked on your facebook updates and realised it was one big fat lie from the beginning.

Leave a Reply

