Way out of my league

I feel unproductive at work today. It feels like every part of me is happily whirling along at the processor speed of Pentium One. And someone’s been drilling at the insides of my head the entire morning. I haven’t quite figured out how to shut it off yet but when I do, you can buy it off the shelves once I patent it.

Even online conversations were exhausting. All I could type was “weak laugh”, “lol”, “ok”, “hahaha” and other singular words. But here’s an interesting bit when I was in a trance in front of my computer:

Workmate: NO SUGAR IN THE PANTRY!

Me: CALL THE POLICE

Workmate: I got the [automated] operator. Press 1 for murder. Press 2 for narcotics. Press 3 for theft. Press 4 for missing persons. [There’s] nothing about sugar.

Me: Press 0 to speak to the customer service officer directly. You have a special case.

Anyway, I feel like having something greasy. A large serving of bacon, sausages, eggs, beans, mushrooms tomatoes and buttered toast. It’s the alcohol from last night speaking, not me because I’ve been concentrating on moving around the office gingerly. You know so I won’t trip myself due to the lack of limb coordination that is usually effortless when sober.

So I went out to party yesterday and I got sloshed. Still, I should give myself a pat on the back for showing up at work on time even though I woke up with a massive hangover. This is why the phrase “TGIF” was invented.

Now according to freedictionary.com, the word “hangover” means the “delayed after-effects of drinking too much alcohol in a relatively short period of time, characterised by headache and sometimes nausea and dizziness”. (All true, by the way.) It could also signify “a letdown, as after a period of excitement”. Which is what I’m experiencing right now – an emotional hangover, along with the regular alcohol-induced sort.

Is it possible to have your heart broken even before you realise it? What do you think?

I wish the person you’re in love with is me. Or rather, I wish I’m playing in the professional league. But it was good while it lasted, brief as it was. More on this when the disco fog in my head clears up.

Must recuperate now… Another round of drinks coming up after work…

One thought on “Way out of my league

  1. Pingback: Listening: Seven Day Mile by The Frames « The Imaginarator

Leave a Reply

