Top ten birthday and holiday gifts for me

So it’s been a while since I dusted the cobwebs off here. In my defence, I was busy having a life, hence the blog hiatus. Which technically is the truth since I haven’t been home at regular hours ever since I signed up for gym classes last month. Yes. I hear you gasp and your thought bubble went something like “Gym + Me = never happening / (or if you’re American) NO WAY.” I know.

Well, if it makes you feel better, my appetite has grown exponentially with the number of times I head down to the gym. Increased appetite = Weight gain by a hell lot. I swear all weighing machines lie. Anyway, there are classes for yoga, pilates, steps, taichi and body combat (which I love oh-so-dearly because the instructor makes you yelp “Hoi hoi hoi” as if you are indeed a mean killing machine. Which I am obviously), and of course, the lovely treadmill. How anyone could bear to run on it for 20 minutes staring at essentially nothing in front of them twists my head in. Until I tried it for myself. And I realised staring at the little stat box which shows how much calories you are burning with every step you take is rather hypnotic. Huff huff huff. One calorie burned. Huff huff huff. Two calories burned and you get the drift.

Oh and my birthday is coming around in 10 days’ time. While I have yet felt the rush of excitement and that tingling sensation ever since I was a child, I kinda like thinking about what others can possibly get for me. Even if they don’t read this. Ha.

I’m a hybrid of geekiness, gadgets, practicality and cleanliness freak with a dash of retro chic so for those of you who’d like to marry or be with someone like me someday, start taking notes.

1) The entire Discworld series by my number one favourite author of all time Terry Pratchett.

My ideal bookshelf

2) Otherwise, the latest book by him would do just nicely – Unseen Academicals.

3) Sennheiser CX300 In-Ear Earphones (black) or SE210 Sound Isolating Earphones (black)

4) Handheld / travel clothes steamer (because my wrinkly shirts are crying for help and I hate ironing)

5) Handheld vacuum cleaner

6) Mini espresso machine

7) A desk fan which is compact yet powerful and chic. Obviously.

8) A Nalgene water bottle and if possible, a tee shirt for it.

9) a portable DVD player so I can finally watch my shows on the flatscreen TV

10) Two DVDs – Say Anything (because I’m a sappy love fool at heart) and High Fidelity (because it really channels my inner geek and because I really heart John Cusack and the earlier stuff he has done pre-2001)

That said, I realise Internet is truly my best mate. Till then, have a lovely Sunday.

Leave a Reply

