One year gone and The Imaginarator’s 2009 list

I had my heart broken for the longest time in 2009. I’ve also lost a few friends but picked up some awesome new ones along the way. I smashed the car badly and paid a hefty fine. I found my inner geek. I conquered bits of Southeast Asia with a bunch of mates. I realised I can get over a heartbreak by the same person twice and I don’t need other people to make me happy. I got better at churning out 3,000 words monthly. I kissed someone really hot. I signed up and went for gym classes religiously for two months running. I scaled up an artificial hill without losing my nerve halfway. I love the geeky items I got for my birthday. I gave myself one of the best birthday/X’mas gifts ever – an iPhone which I’ve been referring it as my lover. You don’t want to know.

But I know it’s the time of the year where people like reading lists so here goes:

Honourary mentions for all the movies (the ones that I can recall) I’ve watched in 2009: Yes Man, Underworld: Rise of the Lycans, Confessions of a Shopaholic, I love you man, Monsters vs Aliens, X-Men Origins: Wolverine, Ghosts of Girlfriends’ Past, Star Trek, Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian, Terminator Salvation, Up, The Hangover, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, Harry Potter and the half-blood prince, Inglourious Basterds, Pandoram, Pink, Whiskey with Vodka, 2012, Planet 51, Avatar, New Moon.

Best movie I’ve seen this year: I can’t decide, so I’m just going to go with Zombieland since it was the last memorably hilarious flick I saw. Although The Hangover comes a second close.

Worst movie I’ve seen this year: I’m torn three-way between Transformers, Pandorum and 2012.

Best book I read this year: You probably won’t believe this, but I haven’t picked up a book to read once this year. I bought one though.

Best defining song I’ve heard this year and was to be my soundtrack at work ever since: No Ordinary Morning by Chicane

Bands I had no idea how much I’d love until I’ve heard them: The Weepies, Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Song that never failed to give me goosebumps: “Pray” performed by Take That in their Beautiful World Tour in Manchester, UK.

Worst months this year: January all the way to September and a little bit of October

Best month this year: December

Second best month this year: A tie between May and October

Best kiss I’ve received this year: It was on 29 October but since there are still several hours left in the year… You never know.

I managed to keep the one resolution I unknowingly made this year: That is to attain a body weight of only 50kg. I haven’t stopped drinking or smoking. I think my number one resolution for 2010 would be to maintain an upright posture whether standing or sitting because I’m kinda sick of people questioning my 168cm self. Unbelievable, I know.

I should also start getting sufficient sleep every night. Visit the gym and gain some ab definition so I can finally stop bringing my navel to my spine when I meet someone new. I should also start dating people who have less emotional baggage onboard.

All in all, I think I matured slightly this year. As I grew a year older, I’ve realised that I have a much higher capacity for emotional pain, clutter and hanging out in a larger group of people than I am used to.

In 2010, I’ll work on not getting my heart broken and updating both my blog and diary, which was an expected gift from J, every day, even if all I did was sleep through the weekend and no one’s going to be overwhelmed by reading about that. And finally, let go of the things that don’t matter and live in the moment because life’s too short to stay unhappy. If that’s not growing up, I don’t know what is.

Happy New Year, y’all. See you when I’m sober.

Leave a Reply

