Trading stories 15319km apart

15319km away

This was supposed to be posted last Sunday (28 February) but I forgot to press that “publish” button. Well, don’t look at me like that. Surely I can’t be the only who forgets to update the blog once in a while or walk around with unzipped pants sometimes for that matter. Anyhow.

I spent my entire Sunday talking to someone who is currently 15319km away. It was not even talking on the phone sort of talking. It was sending numerous messages to and fro across the internet in real time. It was unexpected. I had just sent a random text across describing my yoga class and a couple hours later, there was a reply. And it went on and on and on and on. This thing has legs, Internet!

Our conversation started from the food we were craving for that at moment to where we were located at (which is how I knew we were 15319km apart) to the type of people who annoyed us to making up stories about celebrities to the musicals we enjoy watching. We discussed iPhone apps. A lot about iPhone and Wii games. We talked about our present surroundings. How the hotel room next door was having an all-nighter party going on. The food we love eating. Why smokers smoke and can smokers stop smoking. Sociology. Just absolute random things, you know?

Then at some point in time, we took on new jobs for the day. We became traders, traders of life stories. We started swopping major events at different stages of our lives. Our heartaches, past relationships, the schools we attended, the milestones we achieved, the countries we travelled to, horoscopes, the worst attributes found in previous partners. I mean, we were sort of friends since ages ago but we have never gotten to know each other intimately. Or rather we hardly knew the details of each other’s lives. I felt there was honesty. At least from my part, since I am on a newfound journey of opening myself up to people. (Baby steps, people, baby steps.)

But obviously, it was mutual. Otherwise, we wouldn’t have stayed online chatting for hours. Oh yes, we’re talking about hours. Not two, three or five. But nine. Yes, Internet, two people who were 15319km apart in two different time zones were talking for about nine hours straight. Imagine that!

Me: I feel like we should be sitting opposite each other in a nice cozy cafe sharing our life stories. Snow outdoors is optional but hot chocolate is a must

Someone: Your stories are safe with me

Me: Somehow, I knew my stories would be safe with you. I had no fears on that

Someone: You kept me up all night!

Me: Well, I’m very irresistible in that respect. LOL

I don’t think I’ve ever chatted for so long on an electronic device other than the telephone. Even then, I don’t think I have clocked more than seven hours on that. I thought I had left the need for long conversations behind when I hit my mid-twenties. Who knew a simple hello could be the start of something amazing. And unexpected. God bless Steve Job and the inventors of Internet and wireless data plans.

So for nine hours straight, I ate, drank, ran errands, crossed a busy road while texting at the same time. Even showering took me less than nine minutes because I couldn’t bear to not read the replies as soon as I can. And that someone who was 15319km away didn’t sleep a wink the entire night. We only ended the conversation because it was late morning over there and there were errands to run and it was past my bedtime too.

Oh Internet, I could tell you so much more, but I won’t because some things are best left to your imagination.

One thought on “Trading stories 15319km apart

  1. Pingback: One year ago today | The Imaginarator

Leave a Reply

