This is it!

After close to three weeks, ok it’s more like a month now, of non-stop instant messaging over the phone and yes, there was some pretty intensive flirty banter going on, we have been to New York and back, Los Angeles and back, Australia and back.

There are just so much to talk about, you know what I mean, Internet? Obviously not, or I wouldn’t be here rambling on.

So it finally happened on last Saturday. I mean you have to be trapped somewhere in the darkest crevices of Saturn’s orbiting ring’s hellhole with no GPRS or satellite connection to not see this coming. We were up early chatting till it was time for us to run our errands or have lunch. Then came the question, “Hey, what are you doing later?”

Brief pause. “Nothing much, probably staying home.”

*Hold your breath* anticipation. “Then why don’t you ask me out?”

Clearly, someone was slow to react. I’m refusing to say it’s me. “I’m shy.”

“Oh.”

That was it. The conversation went on in a merry-go-roundabout way throughout the day, talking about what we were doing at that particular moment. But now and then, we would hover close to what was probably on our minds the whole time – Are we going to meet today, if ever at all?

I mean, Internet, do you know how long we’ve been talking about meeting up? Forever. That’s right, Anticipation. You and me, we can write a good thriller. Together with Suspense, Hesitation and Tingly Nerves.

Then around 5pm, “Would you wanna hang out with me if I asked you out?”

“Of course, I’d say yes, only because it’s you who’s asking.”

Hold on to the edge of your seat because this isn’t the end of the oh-my-go-did-they-finally saga. There was another bout of verbal jostling and delayed responses. Until someone fell asleep. Again, I’m not naming names. Finally, the call came.

“Hey what are you doing? Meet me later? In an hour’s time. I’m hungry. Hurry down. Now!”

“sleepymumblejumblemumble…”

– Fade Out – *

*In cinematic terms, this is a transitional editing technique between two scenes where the first scene gradually dissolves with the next scene taking its place. So you will remain riveted to the LCD screen while I skip the boring bits and we go to the part where you’ve all been waiting for. Cool huh?

– Fade In –

We are now tucked at a cozy corner of quaint little café, having crepes. We talked, played games, made comments on other customers. It was all going seemingly well. Until the café decided to close up for the night. Gasp. The audacity! I know right.

If you’re reading this, how would you feel if I told you this is the end of my tale? Multiply that by fifty times and that was exactly how we felt. There’s money to be made, cafés, and you’re not hungry enough!

Fortunately, a somewhat metropolitan city never sleeps until it’s past its bedtime and all late-night shows have ceased to be interesting. We strolled along the neighbourhood and decided to stop at another café which sells chocolate-related products. Now that sentence sounds completely dull. You think you can almost picture a snooze fest coming up. Well, Internet, you’re wrong!

The look we gave each other when we saw the “Open” sign hanging nonchalantly off its door was almost telepathic. You know what that means now, don’t you?

It’s time for a commercial break because narrating my day is such exhausting work. I’m off to continue pretending to look busy at work just so the office feels good about dispensing my paycheque for the month. Kidding! No, I’m not. Yes, I am. Ha!

Break me apart!

2 thoughts on “This is it!

  1. Pingback: Why I like you | The Imaginarator

  2. Pingback: Choco Baby | The Imaginarator

Leave a Reply

