Somebody

Woah, it’s a month since my last post. Well, this must be the longest I’ve been away. You must be wondering why the long lapse. I have no good excuse really. Except… I was bogged down with work. True story. And a week’s vacation sort of came in between my free time for writing and resting. Naturally, I took the liberty of bingeing on whatever free time I could get my hands on by doing absolutely nothing. Surely, you’d understand. Right?

Late last month though, on 27 May to be precise, I had the pleasure of watching this YouTube video my mate sent to me during one of our regular mid-morning Skype chats. And it’s a rare live performance you absolutely have to watch. Goosebumps appear separately.

I never knew the history of this song but it is apparently about the singer Martin L. Gore’s desire to find someone to be his lover and confidant. One particular section which made me smile:

Though my views may be wrong
They may even be perverted
She’ll hear me out
And won’t easily be converted
To my way of thinking
In fact she’ll often disagree
But at the end of it all
She will understand me

I remember having a conversation about the song with somebody only a couple weeks before and that conversation was one of those moments that made you pause and think about the things you want in life. We had both professed to liking the song. Someone might have even confessed to tearing up when listening to it. She probably chalked it off as one of our numerous random things we talked about everyday. Me? I just thought it was awesome that both of us might possibly want the same things in life.

Maybe just maybe I would serenade somebody one day with this song. I’m not a poet or a musician by trade so this is the closest I can get to being one. I should start practising now.

One thought on “Somebody

  1. Pingback: When you really matter to someone | The Imaginarator

Leave a Reply

