A vow I’d make to you

If you haven’t heard, the royal wedding is due to be shown on TV tomorrow. Say cheers if you’re planning to use the nuptials of Prince William and Kate Middleton as an excuse to knock off work early or a reason to celebrate and pop some champagne. I know I am.

But before that, I was reading an article by Guardian UK. It was on love poems and how we can use beautiful poetry to celebrate our relationship or to reaffirm our love to that special someone.

Then I read this poem. It spoke to me. It said the exact words that totally describe how I feel. There are no big showy promises of “we have forever with each other” or “I’d say yes with every heartbeat”. Instead, it’s realistic, doable and close to my heart.

So one day when I have the opportunity to, this is the vow I’d make to you and I will mean every single word.

A Vow by Wendy Cope

I cannot promise never to be angry;
I cannot promise always to be kind.
You know what you are taking on, my darling –
It’s only at the start that love is blind.

And yet I’m still the one you want to be with
And you’re the one for me – of that I’m sure.
You are my closest friend, my favourite person,
The lover and the home I’ve waited for.

I cannot promise that I will deserve you
From this day on. I hope to pass that test.
I love you and I want to make you happy.
I promise I will do my very best.

4 thoughts on “A vow I’d make to you

  1. Its simple, but with great elegance, it talks, and maybe due to that simplicity, it speaks volumes.

    Thanks for sharing that one.

    • Thank you. You have described how I feel about this poem so succinctly as well. It’s definitely one of my favourites. 🙂

  2. Thanks. A friend told me about this poem and now I have been able to read it. Excellent! This is about real love, not sentimentality. A great help to people reflecting on their marriage vows. It will be put to good use.
    Old Canon.

Leave a Reply

