Will you still love me tomorrow?

Two posts earlier, I wrote that I like watching TV. Some people drink alcohol to take the edge off a long workday. Some people go for a jog to clear their heads. Me? I like to watch comedies, criminal dramas or sci-fi shows to take my mind off things.

So I have been watching Modern Family, Cougar Town, Big Bang Theory, Glee, NCIS, Criminal Minds, Mythbusters and Two and a Half Men (I know right). These days, I include American Idol on my list of things to watch.

Two nights ago, I heard a haunting rendition of Carole King’s “Will You Love Me Tomorrow?” by James Durbin, one of the remaining top six Idol finalists. Well, the first two bars anyway because he sang it a-cappella. By the time he launched into the rock version, I had goosebumps all over my arms. I think James is my new favourite contestant to root for after Pia got kicked out few episodes ago.

Why did the song affected me? It was partly the way he sang it that caught my attention. Then I heard the lyrics.

“Tonight you’re mine completely,
You give your love so sweetly,
Tonight the light of love is in your eyes,
But will you love me tomorrow?

“Is this a lasting treasure,
Or just a moment’s pleasure,
Can I believe the magic of your sighs,
Will you still love me tomorrow?”

It’s weird how certain songs can perfectly capture how you feel sometimes. Everyone must have felt the same way at least once in their life, even King. It was hard trying to enjoy the song and not cry.

So here is the song:

Will you still love me tomorrow?

You better love me tomorrow.

😀

Leave a Reply

