Before I turn 30

(This was written on 11 August this year at around 12am or so and I finished it within 45 minutes because I was so enthusiastic about making a worthy list for myself.

That feeling of typing away non-stop and describing exactly what I felt inside into the written word gave me such a high that I can’t wait to experience it again. I daresay this is one of the best and most thrilling posts I have written in the past year.

The only reason why I didn’t publish it then was because I haven’t finished my list. It’s tough, you know, to figure your exact wants and needs. But I was very inspired tonight so here goes.)

So I’m turning 30 next year and I’m not freaking out or anything. Unlike some people/person I know who was so sensitive about it that they went into a silent strop. And decided that being emotional and ignoring me would make them feel better or stop their ageing clock or something. Go figure.

Anyway that happened about two years ago. And we are still friends so it’s all good. But it taught me a very important lesson. There’s no need to take out your unhappiness about growing old on anyone. It’d be far better and much more enjoyable to embrace what life has given you and smile. I find that it makes living more worthwhile and you get to create an annoyingly happy bubble around you that people can’t break.

So I thought about it and when I was 24, I created a “top 50 things to do before I die” list but unfortunately I forgot where I’ve placed that notebook otherwise I could see if I had managed to whittle any items off the list over the past few years. I know some things I wanted to do then involved travelling to some faraway places, owning a lychee farm in China, buying a house in Europe, becoming a gossip columnist. I know.

So since I can’t quite remember what else was on that list and I am not really in the mood to redo my top 50 list just yet, the next best thing would be writing a “top 10 things to do before I turn 30” list. Yes.

I’m like a cannonball rolling up the hill and storing up as much kinetic energy as possible before I reach the top so I can go full speed ahead for the journey downhill. See the clever thing I did there? And I do have to move a bit fast since I only have slightly more than a year to complete my list.

For those of you curious to why there are only 10 items, well, I want to have a balance between achievable goals and ambitious ideals. More importantly, if I have to spend money, then I want to spend it on experiences that I can relive over and over again in my memory.

Because according to research, splurging on material possessions such as an iPad, high-end branded leather wallet, a fancy new car or a studio apartment where you can finally decorate it however you like will only buy you happiness for a short time. Which is not a surprise really because gadgets and physical items get old and scratches and when something newer comes up, the pursuit continues. So you continue to work harder and longer hours, hoping to get a better-paying job to pay for all the stuff you think will make you happy. It never ends.

Then you become depressed, unsatisfied with life, envious of others who can afford the so-called finer things or become egoistic when you own more luxurious items than others. All which frankly make you a human being that no one wants to hang out with.

It’s far better to buy experiences such as a super yummy sumptuous dinner, a luxurious pampering holiday, a cruise, a three-hour soothing massage. Because if you had a great time doing all these things, the memory will always stay with you and over time, you will think of them as even more wonderful than they actually were.

Plus, I have a full-time permanent job so I have limited vacation time to fly around fulfilling my list. Anyway, there is always a list for when I turn 40. Shudders.

So here goes, Internet. The following items are chosen on these main criteria: satisfaction level from accomplishing it, depth of experience I will learn from it, novelty/excitement factor. Drumroll please. DRRRRRRUUUUHHHH…

Top 10 things to do before I turn 30:

1. Go skydiving
2. Go bungy jumping
3. Eat fugu sushi aka puffer fish and live to tell the tale
4. Gain five kilogrammes more and have a vertical line on my abs
5. Go to New York and spend at least two awesome weeks there
6. Take a holiday by myself (a luxurious, pampering stay in a penthouse suite would be fabulous.)
7. Flesh out the book idea that has been brewing in my head into a written draft.
8. Speak French fluently
9. Learn to fly a plane / surfboard (currently a toss-up between two because I can’t swim and I’m afraid of not feeling the ground under my feet.)
10. Save enough money to pay for the downpayment (and few months’ of instalments) of an apartment for myself

Once I have completed each item, I will come back here to review my experiences of each item in a new blog post with a link to this blog post as a virtual tick off the list.

I’m seriously so stoked that I can’t wait to get started on them. Because life is too short to sit around wishing you could have done this or that. Why not do something fun because when was the last time you did something for the first time?

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

