Uno, dos, tres

20110924-121215.jpg

There are three things you should know about me.

1. I love breakfast. I practically wake up thinking about eating breakfast or wondering what I should eat for breakfast or is there something I can eat while waiting to eat a nicer breakfast. Maybe I just wake up hungry all the time.

I love the idea of breakfast so much that I am willing to wake up early to prepare a nice sumptuous meal for myself (or for someone) or go to an exquisite cafe for brunch on weekends.

Nothing like a hot cup of coffee and an omelette (filled with ham, mushrooms and cheese) with nicely fried bacon to kickstart your day. (See picture above.)

I also love hotel international buffet breakfasts. The sheer variety of food and cuisines I get to sample in the morning makes me so happy I practically skip from my hotel room to the buffet spread in the restaurant.

Breakfast is, after all, the king of the meals and the most important meal of all since it’s your first meal of the day so if you get your first meal right, then you’re getting off to a superb start to the rest of your day. Agree?

I just love breakfast so much I wish I could eat it three times a day. And just the thought of eating breakfast already makes me happy, which brings me to the second thing you should know about me.

2. I like laughing and having fun. I am always up for an adventure or doing something different and exciting or out of the norm.

Tell me you want to try something new and you want me to come along, I’d be the first one standing beside you, all raring to go (even if I had tried it before). I am very enthusiastic like that. It helps that I’m very easygoing.

Likewise, I would be thinking of new adventures to go on and new places to try or new things to do or talk about so we will always have so much fun and laughter together.

What gets me more excited and absolutely bubbling with joy is when the person is as equally enthusiastic as I am. Together, we can rule the world.

3. The third thing about me is that I never think the worst of anyone I meet or know or even once knew. I know of people who would immediately assess any new person they meet and confidently decreeing that they are either good/bad/someone to be wary of/probably this and that type. You know, those who would calculate everyone’s motives so they can play this elaborate three-step ahead chess game.

Me? I’d probably say hi and try to have the usual small talk while my mind wanders off to what I should have for breakfast.

And when someone tells me so-and-so was not nice or did something unexpectedly bad, it usually comes as a shock to me because I always assume that everyone is genuine. Yes, I am the sort who would embrace (metaphorically) a person’s qualities and ignore the flaws and all.

I hardly talk bad behind people’s back or indulge in gossip. I mean sure, I do get annoyed and have occasional run-ins or disagreements with people about work or service standards or opinions and I would bitch about them to my friends to understand why would people behave differently from me but I have never once thought bad of anyone.

Even if my friends said these people deserve to rot, I’d always play the devil’s advocate and find reasons for their behaviour so I won’t fault them. Maybe I’d feel bad for them. Mostly, I’d be objective.

My friends say I am too nice, too naive, too empathetic, too silly and the world is not as kind as I had imagined it to be.

And bit by bit, I learn to stay away from people who are maybe not good for me and to be wary of similar behaviour in the future. I am, after all, too nice to be true and I need to toughen up.

So that’s it. Here are three things I thought I’d share with the world wide web this morning. Now… I know I just had breakfast three hours ago. But what should I eat later?

One thought on “Uno, dos, tres

Leave a Reply

