Standard

Withered tree sprouts life

20111109-002354.jpg

This was a fortune telling slip I got from my prayers at a temple on 30 October. Cool eh?

According to the interpreter, the oracle is based on the 27th scripture of famous Chinese Buddhist monk Xuanzang.

Xuanzang lived in the early Tang period and he was famous for his seventeen-year journey to India. His travels were recorded in the classic Chinese text Great Tang Records on the Western Regions, which also inspired the popular epic novel Journey to the West.

The interpreter, who is a kind old lady, said this is an auspicious fortune. Depending on what I had asked the God for, it means success will arrive but it will require plenty of patience on my part. She kept stressing on having immeasurable patience that I had to bit my lips so I wouldn’t laugh out loud.

It’s times like this I wish I have a better understanding of the Chinese language. So I wouldn’t be so stumped in deciphering these words of wisdom. Now I have to rely on my memory to recall what the lady had said.

What the topmost paragraph basically means is that Xuanzang had to travel a great, long distance and encounter many dangers along the way to collect the scriptures. But his disciple will arrive on a cloud of magical powers during his time of need to fly him to his destination. *exhale* I think. (I’d have to ask someone to translate this again.)

The second paragraph means on the day I see success, the stars will appear and flowers will bloom. And a withered tree that was once thought dead will sprout life once again and happiness shall prevail.

Gosh, I really need to find someone who is well-versed in Mandarin to guide me through this. This feels so poetic and beautiful. I hope I have translated it as close to the real meaning as possible.

Throughout the entire conversation, she kept stressing that I have to show utmost patience and to let things run their natural course.

The last section of the oracle means this fortune is good for heralding lucky stars, recovering from illnesses, receiving wealth and career success.

The auntie said repeatedly that I must be extremely patient and calm just like how Xuanzang was. I must also have faith that things will work out the right way for me in the end. She can’t tell me how long it will take for me to realise my goal. It does not mean I do nothing but I should do the best I can (although I am not sure how that will work out since I don’t know what I am supposed to do!).

In life, we can’t control what others want to do or feel. The only thing we have control of is ourself and the rest is about faith.

Above all, be patient. There is no need to hurry things. Stay calm and trust that I will achieve what I asked for.

Sounds fab, doesn’t it? I feel very blessed… And hopeful for the amazing future that awaits me.

Leave a Reply

