Standard

Total eclipse of my heart

20111214-021555.jpg

On Saturday night, as we walked out of the cinema after being thoroughly tickled and amused by the Muppets (you should totally watch the movie if you’re a big childhood fan of them like me), I wondered why so many people were either looking at the sky or pointing their cameras at it. Usually I try not to follow the herd but I was curious. Then I saw it and it was amazing. (I also had to try really hard not to point at the moon to my friends because I fear getting cut behind my ears. True story.)

There was a gradient shadow creeping slowly across the unusually bright moon and like a movie played at extremely slow snail pace, we could see coppery red tinges filling up the sides. It was a total eclipse and the last one we would see until 2014.

From Wired Science:

“A lunar eclipse happens when the Earth slips between the sun and the moon, casting a long shadow on the lunar surface and darkening it. But sunlight filters in through the edges of the Earth’s atmosphere, casting a reddish-orange glow on the moon. This light is a projection of all the sunrises and sunsets happening on Earth at this time, creating a spectacular cosmic show.”

I thought the last line of Wired’s explanation was beautiful. I love sunrises and sunsets and the idea that all of them were happening at the same time I was staring at the eclipse is intoxicating.

But my first thought that night was: “The moon is exceptionally beautiful tonight. Wherever you are in the world, we’d be under the same sky and looking at the same moon. Are you thinking of me as I am of you?”

Gosh, I’m so romantic that even I’d melt and fall in love with me if someone said that to me. RIGHT?

So were you there to see the perfect alignment of the moon, Earth and sun on Dec 10? What was your first thought?

Leave a Reply

