Standard

I will always love you

I’m sure all of you know by now that Whitney Houston has passed on. And there have been many theories to her cause of death or road to demise. Her drug-fuelled lifestyle and the negative influence of her ex-husband Bobby Brown has been well-documented over the years but in the past week there is a new theory (or rather I only heard about it today).

Now I only knew about this because I read on Twitter that the hit song “I will always love you” was actually dedicated to someone very close to Houston and it was not her husband.

The song, and in fact almost all of her albums, was dedicated to her best friend and former long-time assistant Robyn Crawford. They met when they were 16 and they soon become inseparable. They were the Oprah Winfrey and Gayle King of the 80s and rumours were rampant that the close relationship was more than platonic.

20120223-162546.jpg

Among the theories put forth was that Houston had to break up with Crawford and marry Brown to quash the lesbian rumours and it was the heartbreak from leaving her “one true love” that made her into an addict, not Brown’s influence.

So I went to research further and found this by user wowihateyou on the comments page off Gawker:

The night of the Grammys, 1988, I sat next [to] a magnificent woman, a little older than me, at the nail parlour on 54th Street between Lex and Park… I had no idea who she was. I was just admiring her clothes when the owner asked: “Whitney, are you going to the Grammys tonight?”

She left moments before I did and was greeted at the door by a small bookish looking lesbian with big black glasses holding paperwork. They went down the stairs before me. When I reached the landing, they were kissing passionately. No Bobby Brown could ever erase what I saw, which was true passion.

Gay rights campaigner Peter Tatchell wrote in Daily Mail that when he first met Whitney and Robyn in 1991, “it was obvious they were madly in love”.

Their intimacy and affection was so sweet and romantic.

They held hands in the back of the car like teenage sweethearts. Clearly more than just friends, they were a gorgeous couple and so happy together. To see their love was infectious and uplifting.

Whitney was the happiest and at the peak of her career when she was with Robyn.

He summarised that Robyn was Whitney’s greatest love of all and giving her up led to her downfall. And I guess it kinda makes sense when you watch this video again. MAJOR GOOSEBUMPS.

If you have found someone who truly makes you happy and who cares about you deeply and always wants the best for you, I hope you would treasure the person and that both of you can grow old together, no matter what anyone or the society says. Love is love.

[Via Gawker, The Daily Beast and The Daily Mail UK]

Leave a Reply

