Standard

Champagne rings

20120229-103433.jpg

How do you define love?

Haha, did that throw you off guard? That sounds totally deep and philosophical, isn’t it? So I had a lovely day out today. I have decided that my new favourite thing to do is watching afternoon movies on weekdays. Ticket prices are lower than usual and the crowds are almost non-existent.

But you would have to turn your tolerance level up several notches because there will be middle-aged couples who do not understand cinema etiquette of NOT picking up a call during a movie. In fact, they are probably ignorant since they do not even silence their phones before the movie.

And do you have any idea how loud these old fogeys talk? LOUD. Like THEY HAVE TO SPEAK IN CAPS KIND OF LOUD. Because they are nearly deaf, that’s why. It riles me up just talking about these inconsiderate assholes again. First, they disrupt my enjoyment of the movie. Then my anger distracts me from focusing on the movie because I’m trying to get these assholes to shut up.

Maybe next time instead of “SHH-ing” and “TSK-ing” them, I should let out a string of expletives loudly. Two can join in the game of “Let’s see who can be a bigger asshole and ruin the movie for everyone”. Right?

Ok enough, back to the Chinese film I watched. Love (2012) is about the love stories and relationship up-and-downs of eight people and I love it, even though some details were a bit farfetched. I literally laughed at loud at certain scenes and went “awww” at some loving moments portrayed in the film.

20120301-200453.jpg

The opening credits are whimsically beautiful and the soundtrack is delightful as the film introduces us to the eight main characters who unknowingly cross each other’s paths while figuring out the meaning of love in their lives.

The love story arc that I particularly like is between Zoe Fang (Shu Qi), an older jaded lady who is used to a luxurious lifestyle from going out with wealthy men only and Kuan (Ethan Juan), an inexperienced naive younger boy who believes in true love. As they got to know each other, she realised she could be herself when she was with him. Whenever she spent time with him, she felt carefree and a sense of innocence that she thought had been lost.

After a few months of self-imposed separation, she met him by chance at an event and it was there where she proposed to him with a “champagne ring”.

After he returned her proposal with a handmade ring of his own, Kuan said: “你的未来全包在我身上了。” (I will take care of your future for the rest of my life.)

Zoe replied: “我不接受包养,我只接受爱。” (I don’t accept such [material] support, I only want love.)

It made me smile.

P/S: Another standout quote from the movie was from Nī, a young girl who confronted her best friend over a betrayal. It reminded me of a conversation I had with someone about her flaws. What a coincidence.

“我很挑剔,我很难搞,我讲话难听,我常常脸臭,可是那就是我啊。我就是没办法像你一样听话,顺从,又牺牲奉献。就因为我没有这么伟大,我就不配爱人,就不值得被爱吗?”

[Images via Laughing Squid and Chinese Movies]

Leave a Reply

