Standard

Lorax made me LOL

I watched the movie The Lorax by Dr Seuss yesterday and it gave me such a feel-good vibe that I watched all its trailers and featurettes on YouTube the whole of today, which made me smile all over again.

I was laughing out loud and giggling throughout the entire animated film, along with many others in the audience. We all laughed, went “awwww” at the touching scenes (and some probably even sniffed), tapped our feet at the catchy tunes, “grrr” at the villain in unison and finally cheered when a happy ending was in sight.

The movie poster said it was 126 minutes long but honestly it felt like only 15 minutes had passed. It was so enjoyable that we were disappointed when it ended because we wanted the movie to go on for a bit longer. It was indeed a brilliant reenactment of a Dr Seuss classic. I even stayed till the end of the credits, hoping that there would be some extended scenes.

You would have felt the same way if you had seen the bears (which were a crowd favourite). Look at them go “ooooh” and keep an eye on that cute fish in the right corner.

20120311-182145.jpg

And Pipsqueak grinning with a mouthful of marshmallows.

20120311-182249.jpg

The fishes were my favourite comedic elements though. They could sing and dance and even crow like the rooster in the morning.

20120311-182827.jpg

More importantly, their expressions looked so adorable, innocent and “high” that they reminded me of someone’s facial expressions when she danced in a carefree “tao zui” manner. So happy that even Madonna copied her dance moves.

20120311-182449.jpg

Another thing that fascinated me was Ted’s hair. It looked exactly like my bowl cut. I kid you not. From its individually coiffed strands and bowl-like shape, I thought I was seeing myself onscreen.

20120311-183355.jpg

Right? Hahaha! So this is how I’d look if I were a cartoon. Oh, and the mule in the movie (not pictured here) looked exactly like my dog.

20120311-183518.jpg

And so I’m going to watch this video again.

By the way, the book/movie ended with this quote, which could apply to many situations in our lives and the world in general.

Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not. — Dr Seuss

[Images via YouTube and The Lorax official trailers]

2 thoughts on “Lorax made me LOL

  1. Pingback: A 2012 review of The Imaginarator’s blog | The Imaginarator

  2. Pingback: How I made peace with 2013 | The Imaginarator

Leave a Reply

