Standard

That feeling you can’t deny

Few weeks ago, I watched the latest season of How I Met Your Mother (Season 7/Episode 01: The Best Man) on TV and there were two particular scenes that made me ponder about what I think I have with someone. I wanted to post the quote on Twitter but I thought it deserves a longer blog post.

The whole gang was at a wedding and Lily realised that Robin still had feelings for Barney and she was troubled by how she felt. So she said to Robin:

“It doesn’t have to make sense. It’s chemistry… You and Barney have the kind of chemistry that just doesn’t go away.”

Later Barney decided to call Nora to tell her how he felt about her:

“The reason I called is to tell you how I feel about you. I know we didn’t work out the first time and I know it doesn’t make any sense, but I can’t shake the feeling that we belong together. Is there any part of you that wants to try again?”

Two different scenes but both were about the same topic: chemistry and that feeling of belonging together.

Weird huh? How sometimes you feel so strongly that there is this special person who fills a big part of your life and fits you perfectly and you will never feel the same without the same person around. Because you are so used to being the maker of her day, creator of her rainbows, bringer of smiles to her face and the sunshine in her life and so on. And you are so sure that both of you belong together and so certain that you will be one of those very happy couples that people will look enviously at. Hahaha.

I have felt this way about someone for the longest time. It was this strong sense that we are intricately linked together somehow and our lives share this bond that we can’t shake off, no matter how we try to deny it. If you read my blog posts since the beginning of 2010 till now, you’d realise how I felt then is still how I feel now. Weird huh.

Maybe this is what “we are meant to be” means.

Leave a Reply

