Full disclosure

I couldn’t sleep so I tried lulling myself to sleep with some pointless TV shows. But as you know, I often find meaning in the most random TV programme that would somehow relate to a particular point in my life. Tonight, Friends With Benefits Season 1 Episode 13: The Benefits of Full Disclosure has the honour.

In this scene, Ben is pining for his past relationship with Sara while he’s going through a rough patch so he goes to her place to confess how he feels about her, even though Sara is currently dating her journalist boyfriend. Naturally, Sara gets exasperated with Ben.

Sara: “How long have we known each other?”
Ben: “Around 10 years…ish.”
Sara: “And how long have I wanted a relationship and how long have I wanted to fall in love?”
Ben: “Since always…”
Sara: “That’s right. Do you want a relationship with me? Do you want to be in a steady relationship with me?”
Ben: “Woah, why must we put a label on us? Why can’t we just hang out and let things take their natural course? We are good together.”
Sara: “I need a stable relationship and I want love. I am ready for a relationship and you are not.”

And CUT. The scene ends with both parties looking forlorn about the prospect of not seeing each other anymore even though they really like each other a lot.

Well, this is more or less what I can remember of the conversation on TV since I can’t find any quotes or full recap or the script anywhere online. So you just have to trust my memory.

Leave a Reply

