The one with the proposal

I love Friends. I mean, who doesn’t, right? I have watched the reruns so many uncountable times and yet I have always laughed at the same scenes all over again because it really is a brilliantly written comedy.

The actors played their roles perfectly and they were the sort of friends I wish I had in my life. They shared so many similar experiences that I could relate to and became such a huge part of my life that I was so sad when the series ended its run in 2004.

And the script below is from one of my favourite episodes ever Friends: Season 6, episode 24 and 25 (click here for the full script). It made me laughed and teared all at the same time. How brilliant is that? Here’s how.

[Scene: The Hallway, Chandler is running up the stairs and towards his apartment. Joey is taking out the garbage at the same time and stops him in the hall.]

Joey: Dude!

Chandler: I can’t talk to you now, I gotta find Monica!

Joey: She’s gone.

Chandler: What?

Joey: She’s gone. She had a bag and she left.

Chandler: What are you talking about?

Joey: She was all crying. She… she said you guys want different things, and that she needed time to think.

Chandler: Well, why didn’t you stop her?! Why didn’t you just tell her it was a plan?!

Joey: I–I did! I told her everything, Chandler! But she wouldn’t believe me.

Chandler: Well, where… Where did she go?

Joey: To her parent’s, I think and she said you shouldn’t call her. But if I were you, I would.

Chandler: I can’t believe I ruined this.

Joey: I am so sorry, man.

(Chandler walks dejectedly into his apartment to find it lit with about a thousand candles and Monica standing in the living room.)

Monica: You wanted it to be a surprise.

(He turns to look at Joey, who smiles slyly and closes the door, leaving them alone.)

Chandler: Oh my God.

(Monica gets down on one knee.)

Monica: Chandler… In all my life… I never thought I would be so lucky. (Starts to cry.) As to… fall in love with my best… my best… There’s a reason why girls don’t do this!

Chandler: Okay! (He joins her on one knee) Okay! Okay! Oh God, I thought… (Starts to cry, pauses) Wait a minute, I–I can do this. (Pause)

I thought that it mattered what I said or where I said it. Then I realised the only thing that matters is that you, (Pause) you make me happier than I ever thought I could be. (Starts to cry again.) And if you’ll let me, I will spend the rest of my life trying to make you feel the same way. (Pause as he gets out the ring.) Monica, will you marry me?

Monica: (Takes a deep breath.) Yes.

(The crowd goes wild as Chandler puts the ring on her finger. They hug and kiss this time as an engaged couple.)

One day, if I ever had the chance to propose to someone special, the text in bold quotes would be exactly what I’d say. Ok, now to stop tearing.

Because, darling, you look wonderful tonight. *hums the tune from Eric Clapton’s Wonderful Tonight*

Leave a Reply

