Grow old with me

Grow old… and fat and rich along with me because we will always laugh together.

I first wrote half of this post on Oct 11, 2010 at 11.53pm after watching the episode Me and My Town in the season five of Desperate Housewives. It was the period when Gabrielle Solis was plump and frumpy from taking care of two daughters at home and Carlos was blind.

I thought I’d finish writing it tonight because I have been watching a few episodes from its eighth – and final – season recently. Plus, I have been laughing a lot these few days and feeling rather romantic.

In this episode I watched two years ago, Gabrielle goes to the hospital to visit Carlos and she is informed there’s a bone fragment impinging his optic nerve. But he could restore his vision in a month if it is removed. The couple are thrilled, but Gabrielle is nervous about how he will think she’s ugly when he can see.

She comically tries to argue against having the surgery so soon, but to no avail. With no time to get back into shape the old-fashioned way, she panics and confesses her fears to Carlos. She tells him to be prepared that she is no longer as beautiful as she was.

He replies that she will always be beautiful to him and he tells her a story about the first time he knew he was going to be with her forever. It was also the night he proposed to her. He had taken Gabby out for ribs, and from the way he describes it, it sounds like she did her best T-Rex impression at dinner.

Carlos: “I knew I was going to marry you the night we went to that restaurant on 3rd Street.”

Gabrielle: “I remember that place.”

Carlos: “You wore a white linen sundress and [chuckles] you ordered this giant plate of ribs. And you ate them with such gusto – up to your elbows in barbecue sauce, meat hanging from your teeth and grease in your hair. And when it was all over, I pointed out what a mess you were.

“You pulled out your mirror, took a look at yourself, and just let out this huge, happy, totally unrestrained laugh. The room was completely filled with it, and I thought to myself: ‘Now *that* is a sound I’d like to hear the rest of my life.’ That’s why I proposed to you. And it had nothing to do with your looks.”

Gabrielle: “You know when I decided I wanted to be with you forever?”

Carlos: “No. When?”

Gabrielle: “About 30 seconds ago. [kisses Carlos] Up until then, it was pretty touch and go.”

Heh, I went awwwww at that scene. It reminded me of how I enjoy listening to you laugh whenever we spend time together because knowing that I am the one making you happy makes me happy too.

You know how it feels when you know you want to hear the same laughter for the rest of your life? I do.

Leave a Reply

