Standard

The meaning of true love

20120616-194339.jpg

My heart melted when I saw this photo. And that made me realise I’m such an idealist at times. I genuinely believe in true love, in having a significant other, in finding The One, in committing to a partner for life, in making plans together for our future, in staying with each other through thick and thin until the end of time.

It’s also hard not to believe in true love when I see examples of it in my friends IRL. I know two happy friends who can’t wait to spend the rest of their lives with their other halves. One of whom has even made a commitment in the form of a diamond ring (no less).

When I see the twinkle in their eyes and how they look at each other and how their hands would intertwine when one of them speaks, I can’t help but feel happy for the couple and yet a slight twinge of sadness (maybe even a little envy). Because I want what they have—knowing that someone would always be there for me, having someone to come home to, and most of all, loving and being loved by someone.

It sounds so darn simple, isn’t it?

My friends—the recently engaged happy couple (I’ve seen the ring and it’s gorgeous)—are prepared and excited to spend the rest of their lives together. They are gay, by the way, but they don’t believe in having a paper certificate to prove their love for one another or to anyone.

One said: “Is the paper really important when straight people are still divorcing? If someone wants to leave or break up with you, a cert won’t stop them.

“If we really wanted a certificate, we can always fly overseas and get one. It’s not that difficult.

“The ring is a symbol of our long-term commitment to each other. It makes a difference to how we see each other from now.”

Now they can consider themselves married without an actual marriage. “We don’t need a ceremony, a certificate or the government (or even the church) to tell us ‘we are married’ … As long as I consider her my partner and she considers me hers.”

Both of them never expect to see each other three years ago in a different light after being friends for close to a decade. And they never thought they’d be together in a relationship within a few months after meeting each other for coffee one night. And they never thought they’d settle down and be excited to start a life together. They never thought they’d find the one but they did.

And in doing so, they have inspired the people, including me, around them. Aren’t you?

It’s true, you know. There is true love out there for everyone and the universe knows how to send you The One when you’re mentally and emotionally ready.

And when the right one for you comes along, it doesn’t matter what you do or how you look and behave, this person will still think you are awesome and they are so lucky to have found you and you’d mean the world to them. Because this person will love you for exactly who you are. And the strangest part is you’d feel exactly the same way about them. That’s when you’d know it’s true love. 🙂

Leave a Reply

