Catwoman got my tongue

20120801-232414.jpg

I really think Anne Hathaway is the second best Catwoman ever, after Michelle Pfeiffer, even though many people I spoke to felt otherwise. They’re just too stuck in their ways. Ha!

All Hathaway needed to do to take my breath away was to utter “Ooops.”

Vanity Fair says it best really:

It’s an “Ooops” dripping in sexiness and insincerity, coming as it does after Christian Bale’s Bruce Wayne interrupts her in the middle of a heist and before she dons her leather or rubber catsuit.

The “Ooops” and its Jean Harlow naughty-girl reading come early in the film and the rest of Hathaway’s performance seems to flow from it. She’s flip, she’s funny, and she looks great astride the bat cycle thingee. She kicks credible ass, and she doesn’t overdo the cat business. She’s just right.

She’s the spark that lights up the film. And I especially love the film’s ending. It warned my heart. Yes, yes, I just want to keep gushing over Selina Kyle, aka the hottie cat burglar. Meowwww.

My friend did say Hathaway has a big butt. I didn’t notice the size. Not when I see Catwoman riding the Bat Pod, with her ass up in the air as she crouches low on the vehicle. Or when she kicks the baddies in her skin tight suit and really high heels. All I could think of was: “Awwww-weeeee. Sizzling hot.”

The film, on the whole, is brilliantly made. The actors were brilliantly cast. Many had said The Dark Knight Rises is “three hours too long” and too exhausting to sit through because as entertaining as it is, the action scenes took too long to build up. Those fools.

Christopher Nolan, the director and co-writer of the “Dark Knight Trilogy”, has made a film fused with so much wonderful in-depth character build-up, imagination, subtle humour and intelligence that’s interlaced with excellent action scenes and twists. Breathless.

I particularly love the ending. Catwoman. Grrrrrr.

Leave a Reply

