Happy birthday

Happy birthday to you

Happy birthday to you, my love.

有些事情…… 是我每天都挂念的,但每一年… 只能说一次:生日快乐。

A long long time ago, we were chatting and you told me about a romantic Chinese movie that you loved a few years back. You said you watched it with your sister and you cried during the film because you thought it was very touching, while your sister thought the film was lame.

I was intrigued, because you loved the storyline and you told me a quote from the movie that made you emotional. I told myself that I would google about it and remember it forever, so one day I can maybe do the things the lead characters did in the movie for you IRL.

I scrolled through many videos and finally found a brief YouTube introduction of the Cantonese/Mandarin film:

Happy Birthday is about two soulmates who spend a decade doing everything but getting together as a couple. They seemed destined to be the perfect lovers, but the girl can’t commit to a relationship. Yet, they clearly love and adore each other, so they continue in this on-off quasi-relationship for many years. And no matter how far apart they may be, one would still call or text the other person on their special day and sing “Happy Birthday” every year.

I’m sure you know the storyline by heart… So really, here’s my message to you as this blog post goes online on 22 August at midnight sharp. It’s a song that amazingly has all the right words that I want to tell you, but can’t. Even the part where they spilled food on themselves and tried cleaning each other reminded me of us. Ha! Maybe this is why you like Chinese songs so much. *chios*

Happy birthday, my love. Hope you have a splendid celebration and Oh! The Places You’ll Go! because today is your day.

Leave a Reply

