Best I ever had

Nine days ago, we were scrolling through each other’s playlists on our phones and trying to decipher the type of hidden personality each of us try so hard to subdue in public. We had more than 1,200 songs each, so there were plenty to decode as we looked intently at each other’s phones.

After a while, the verdict was out. I was told that I am a secret pop-song lover who’s also a techno lian who secretly enjoys 90s ballads. I said she is an old fogey who is trapped in the new millennium and who should get out of the 60s–90s era. ‘Come to the future. It’s more fun here.’

I couldn’t stop ‘tsk-ing’ and shaking my head in disappointment at her, while she kept hitting my arm in (embarrassed?) delirium.

But we couldn’t stop laughing. Turns out, we have quite a few of the same songs on our playlists. It’s kinda embarrassing and gratifying at the same time, because there are just some songs that should remain hidden from public viewing. Hahaha!

Later, we shared a cab home and the radio was playing some tunes. We were chatting and I wasn’t paying attention to the music when she pointed out abruptly that: ‘This is your kind of song.’

So we paused to listen. ‘Why is this song my kind?!’

‘It just is! Listen to it carefully!’

So we listened and there were acoustics and some melancholy, pensive singing. ‘How is this my song?! Why?!’

‘You don’t like meh? Got acoustics and sounds a bit emo… This is definitely your kind of song. You look like the kind who likes this type of song.’

So we listened carefully again and I finally said: ‘Ok, you may be right. I do like this type of song. Who sang this? But why?! I still don’t understand why must this be my song!

‘I’ll ask Siri. [Held the phone up.] Siri, why is this my kind of song?’

Hahaha! And we couldn’t stop laughing until she nearly choked. Yes, I can’t help being so humorous. It’s a natural talent. 😀

So I went home to YouTube the video and you know what, I do love the song. Guess my friend, whom I have known only for a short while, was right in this. Ha!

Leave a Reply

