Lifelong treasure of destiny

Hi, it’s been awhile and I’ve been meaning to post this as soon as I have some free time to pen down my thoughts. Ready?

So I ran home eagerly on Monday, hoping to catch the first episode of the latest season of How I Met Your Mother which was slated to start at 9.30pm, and I’m glad I did. Even though in hindsight, I could have always watched the repeat telecast at 1am. Then again, I might have fallen asleep, most probably with my phone in hand and end up the next morning with weird photos and unknown numbers registered in my phone (yes, it has happened quite a few times).

It wasn’t one of the most brilliantly written episodes in its entire eight-year series, but it did had a scene, which made me tear, but only slightly. And yes, it involves Ted and the meaning of finding your one true love. Yes, yes, I’m a sappy, sentimental, romantic fool.

Klaus: “There is a word in German — lebenslangerschicksalsschatz. And the closest translation would be ‘lifelong treasure of destiny’.

“And Victoria is wünderbar, but she is not my lebenslangerschicksalsschatz. She is my beinaheleidenschaftsgegenstand. You know? It means ‘the thing that is almost the thing that you want, but it is not quite’.

“Lebenslangerschicksalsschatz is not something that develops over time. It is something that happens instantaneously. It courses through you like the water of a river after a storm; filling you and emptying you all at once. You feel it throughout your body, in your hands, in your heart, in your stomach, in your skin… Have you ever felt this way about someone?”

Ted: “Yeah, I think so.”

Klaus: “If you have to think about it, you have not felt it.”

Ted: “And you’re absolutely sure you’ll find that some day?”

Klaus: “Of course. Everyone does eventually. You just never know when or where.”

One day, I’ll find you, my lebenslangerschicksalsschatz, and I know you’d be waiting for me too. 🙂

Here’s the scene on YouTube for the visually inclined:

[Via Tumblr

Leave a Reply

