Why I love December

December picOther than the fact that it’s the month of my birthday and Christmas, I like December mainly because it feels like such a slack time. Even the weather appears to be taking a long vacation, with the unpredictability of horrible heavy rain, unbearably humid temperatures and limited sunshine. Hours at the office trickle by very slowly and the mood is sluggish because everyone is either away for their year-end holidays or have set their minds on a mental vacation. No one is really concentrating at work and is just fulfilling their minimal quota. Haha, at least that’s what I am doing. Does it apply to you too?

Everything feels so gloomy that there’s even a term for this month. It’s called ‘Decemberish’. But! I like spending December on WordPress, because I get to see snowflakes gently falling across my computer screen and it feels rather Zen and calming. And then I’d smile at how Christmas-sy pictures look on the blog posts.

I guess I like the date today too… 12 / 12 / 12. Repetitively seductive. Maybe I will publish this post or tweet at 12:12pm just because.

Anyway, the world will not be ending on 21 December, according to NASA, and the space organisation has kindly answered (in detailed explanations) many doomsday queries on its website. How nice of them!

But a more interesting outlook would be my tarot card reading for this month.

It is the second time this year that some letting go has to be done. A relationship is going to end. This can cause some distress, but there are also feelings of gratitude. Your feelings run deep, but you have difficulty expressing them. You feel vulnerable and emotional.

You are attracted to giving your time and energy to something outside of yourself. Clean out the garage or attic and donate the excess to charity.

There are changes in the work situation, such as a shift in personnel. In a strange turn of events, you may find yourself having to defend your actions and motivations. Your honesty may be questioned.

If you are single, you may meet someone later this month. If you are committed, you may feel you are involved in a roller-coaster kind of relationship. Not to worry, things calm down by the end of the month.

Obviously, I don’t know how true this prediction will be, but I feel poignant on the first point, sceptical on the second portion, puzzled at the third and intrigued with the fourth. Haha!

I sure hope things will calm down, because I feel very restless and unsure about so many things in my life right now. My mind is all over the place and I can’t seem to be at peace with myself. Not sure how long I can keep my ‘calm persona’ in public for… without breaking down. By the way, four more days to the big one!

Leave a Reply

