I wish I knew how to quit you

I was reading random news on my RSS feed on late Friday night when I came across this article on Guardian UK:

Some of the better gay films acknowledge that lovers are capable of hating each other at the same time, and expressing it beautifully: see the Heath Ledger/Jake Gyllenhaal “I wish I knew how to quit you” rage scene in Brokeback Mountain.

Obviously, I had to click on the link, because it reminded me of how I feel about someone. And no surprise, I cried while watching the YouTube clip. It all felt so real and the emotions bubbling up to the surface were raw, wretched and tragic. It was when you realise that the one who speaks the least in a relationship is usually the one who feels the most, loves the deepest and gets twice the pain when they get into a fight.

You know it’s true love when you feel the stress of having to maintain a forbidden relationship is no match for wanting to be with the love of your life… Whether for a brief moment, a few days or forever.

Ennis Del Mar: I’m gonna tell you this one time, Jack fuckin’ Twist, an’ I ain’t foolin’. What I don’t know – all them things I don’t know – could get you killed if I come to know them. I ain’t jokin’.

Jack Twist: Yeah well try this one, and I’ll say it just once!

Ennis Del Mar: Go ahead!

Jack Twist: Tell you what, we coulda had a good life together, fuckin’ real good life! Had us a place of our own. But you didn’t want it, Ennis! So what we got now is Brokeback Mountain! Everything’s built on that, that’s all we got boy, fuckin’ all. So I hope you know that, if you don’t never know the rest!
You count the damn few times we have been together in nearly twenty years and you measure the short fucking leash you keep me on, and then you ask me about Mexico and tell me you’ll kill me for needing somethin’ I don’t hardly never get. You have no idea how bad it gets! I’m not you… I can’t make it on a coupla high-altitude fucks once or twice a year! You are too much for me Ennis, you son of a whoreson bitch… I wish I knew how to quit you.

Ennis Del Mar: Well why don’t you? Why don’t you just let me be, huh? Because of you, Jack, that I’m like this. I’m nothing… and nowhere.

Jack Twist: Ennis…

Ennis Del Mar: Get the fuck off me!

Jack Twist: Sorry… it’s all right. Damn you, Ennis!

Ennis Del Mar: I can’t stand it anymore, Jack!

Watch the clip below and you’ll see what I mean.

http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=YHECTwLI9Z8&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DYHECTwLI9Z8

Leave a Reply

